formshasem.blogg.se

Synology nas time machine high sierra
Synology nas time machine high sierra











synology nas time machine high sierra
  1. #SYNOLOGY NAS TIME MACHINE HIGH SIERRA HOW TO#
  2. #SYNOLOGY NAS TIME MACHINE HIGH SIERRA FULL#
  3. #SYNOLOGY NAS TIME MACHINE HIGH SIERRA PLUS#
  4. #SYNOLOGY NAS TIME MACHINE HIGH SIERRA MAC#

Nevertheless, I have both working for TM backups: AFP on the DS213 and SMB on DS418. Another suggests TM has problems with DSM's SMB implementation, using SAMBA 4.4 ( ). The Synology forums have conflicting posts regarding making TM work, including the one you reference. I've been backing up to a DS213 successfully using AFP, and I'm setting up a DS418play using SMB.

#SYNOLOGY NAS TIME MACHINE HIGH SIERRA FULL#

I've got a setup very similar to yours: a 480GB SSD and 1TB HD both internal (718GB full backup reported in TM). Looking forward to hear any thoughts and ideas :-) This really has been some struggle so far. I cannot think of what else I could possibly try to get Time Machine to backup to my NAS. Enable Power Nap while plugged into a power adapter.

synology nas time machine high sierra

  • Prevent computer from sleeping automatically when display if off.
  • synology nas time machine high sierra

    My Mac's power options are the following: In the morning I was greeted by the same message again: 'Waiting to complete first backup'.

    #SYNOLOGY NAS TIME MACHINE HIGH SIERRA MAC#

    I let my Mac run over night, staying connected to my NAS, hoping the backup would finish. It got further than via wifi but again, it did not finish the backup. I enabled DHCP on my NAS, connected it via an ethernet cable to my Mac and started another backup. While all my first attempts were to get the initial TM backup to work over WIFI, I also tried connecting the NAS directly to my Mac.

  • Enabled Bonjour Service Discovery and Bonjour Time Machine broadcast via SMB.
  • I have SMB enabled only - AFP is disabled.
  • Granted read/write access to Time machine file share and set quota of 3TB.
  • Standard user with a strong, random password.
  • Encryption is disabled (for now - would like to have it but want to be able to get backups working first).
  • "Advanced data integrity protection" is enabled.
  • In a nutshell these are my current settings:

    synology nas time machine high sierra

    I disabled HDD hibernation, disabled AFP. After a couple GB the NAS was again stuck and said 'Waiting to complete first backup'.Īfter some research I found a helpful Synology thread. In case I did a mistake setting up the folder and user on my NAS, I reset the NAS and started from scratch. It transferred around 9GB of data but that was it. Time Machine stated: 'Waiting to complete first backup'. No error message but not even near completion. After several GB of data transfer the backup stopped. I was able to discover the Time Machine folder on my NAS and TM started it's initial backup. My first attempt to get this to work, was by following Synology's instructions. So, I am trying to backup 1.6TB at the moment via Time Machine as the initial backup. I am trying to perform a backup of my internal SSD (500GB), as well as my my external HDD (around 1.1 TB of data). So far, each Mac has been backed up on individual hard drives. Just letting you guys know.I recently bought a NAS (Synology DS218+) to help with backing up several Macs in my household using Time Machine. I don't know whether this is doable.Īny advice? thanks! Also I can probably save up $100 every month. Do you guys have any suggestion? What about the cost? The OS I need to run? I knew that Linus introduced an OS that is free, but it is in windows. I am a total noob for all these NAS related stuff.

    #SYNOLOGY NAS TIME MACHINE HIGH SIERRA PLUS#

    Plus that I have a hard drive that I am currently not in use. The reason I do not want to buy a actual server is that, it is too expensive, plus if I can build one for a cheaper price, and enjoy myself while DIYing it, why the heck not. You didn't plug it firmly, the drive did not register correctly, it was supposed to be shown as a time machine backup, but it shows itself as a normal hard drive, so I have to unplug it and plug it back in etc. I am currently hooking a 2.5 inch HDD to my laptop so that I can have a time machine back up.īut sometime it gets annoying. I am using my macbook for studying as well as work.

    #SYNOLOGY NAS TIME MACHINE HIGH SIERRA HOW TO#

    Building a CustoMac Hackintosh: Buyer's Guideĭoes any one knows how to DIY a server/NAS that is compatible with apple's time machine?













    Synology nas time machine high sierra